Posted by: outandequal | September 7, 2012

Pat Baillie, Director of Training, On the Road Again – Kansas to Germany

Pat Baillie, Director of Training & Professional Development

by Pat Baillie | To no one’s surprise I am back on the road again!  This trip is a lot shorter but contains all the elements of the last trip; jet setting around the US and then an international trip to Germany.  I got the chance to go to Salina, Kansas and teach for the US Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation Service manager meeting.  The Special Emphasis Program (SEP) manager invited me to present Building Bridges.  It takes a bit of translation to take our corporate business case to apply to federal employees.  The group was ready and willing to learn more about cultural competency and this was also the first time we used an expanded ally development section. We recently created an ally tip handout and we are developing scenarios that talk about how to be an ally in a variety of situations.  With this group, we just talked through the scenarios but soon they will be compatible with online learning management systems.

I drove from Kansas City to Salina (about 3 hours) and saw lots of Kansas history – including the historic sites where General George Custer learned his early army skills. And, this is where the Brown vs the Board of Education supreme court case originated and of course, the Wizard of Oz.  I am beginning think this Dorothy connection is following me – check my blogs from New Orleans and Edinburgh to see the last trip connections.  I didn’t have time to stop in and see the museum, but totally had to capture the roadside billboard.  And yes those are storm clouds in the background!

Today I am making my way to Germany through Newark where Nancy Mace and I will be working with a company who is considering a global ERG network. It’s another great opportunity to learn and find out more about this global Oz we are working on creating!  Let me know if you’d like to be Dorothy, the Tin Man, the Scarecrow, the Cowardly Lion, Toto or the Wizard. I think there is a longer blog to look at each of those archetypes in our community but for now – we know it takes all of us to make a difference and move LGBT workplace equality forward!

See you on the other side of the pond!
Pat Baillie, Director, Training & Professional Development

Categories

