Posted by: outandequal | October 19, 2011

Brian McNaught – Selisse Berry Leadership Award Recipient

Brian McNaught

We are happy to announce that Brian McNaught, the world’s leading corporate diversity consultant dealing with LGBT issues in the workplace, is the recipient of the Selisse Berry Leadership Award. The award, named in honor of Out & Equal’s Founding Executive Director, Selisse Berry, will be presented to McNaught at the 2011 Out & Equal Workplace Summit  on Thursday, October 27, 2011.

Watch Brian’s acceptance speech here. 

From Out & Equal’s press release:

“I am so pleased that Brian McNaught is being honored with this award,” said Berry. “His work has been important, ground-breaking, and invaluable.  I am proud to consider him a peer, and a friend.”

Read what other LGBT leaders have to say about Brian in the press release on the Out & Equal website.

In a blog entitled With Apologies to Our Youth, published today, Brian McNaught mentions the award.

In a week, I’m going to receive a “lifetime achievement” award at the annual Out & Equal Workplace Summit. Called the Selisse Berry Leadership Award in honor of the organization’s founding executive director, it cites individuals for their dedicated work for equality in th

e lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people. I’m thrilled to receive this honor, particularly since it has only been given once before, and that was to Selisse Berry. I could die today feeling quite fulfilled by my life of service as an educator on these issues. In my acceptance speech, I plan to thank the Catholic Church for firing me in 1974 for being gay. If they hadn’t, I wouldn’t be writing this.

You can read his entire blog posting here: http://diversityguides.com/gay_workplace/?p=585

Congratulations, Brian! You do great work, and we are proud to know, and honor you.

Categories

